Post content

Election result for Luton South

The Labour Party held the constituency of Luton South in the 8 June 2017 General Election with an increased majority. I came third as the candidate for the Liberal Democrats.

I would sincerely like to thank the 1,056 citizens of Luton South who voted for me for their support. I also want to put on record my thanks to the other candidates who helped make it a friendly campaign and to all those involved in organising and administrating the election.

Congratulations to Gavin Shuker in being returned as Luton South’s Member of Parliament and I wish him luck in representing the interests of the people of the constituency in what will be challenging political circumstances.

I should have further reflections on the General Election result shortly.

Full details of the result below:

Luton South

Labour Gavin Shuker 28,804 62.4%
Conservative Dean Russell 14,879 32.3%
Liberal Democrat Andrew Strange 1,056 2.3%
UKIP Ujjawal Ub 795 1.7%
Green Party Marc Scheimann 439 1.0%
Independent Abid Ali 160 0.3%

46,133 votes were cast

Turnout was 68.83%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *